National Celiac Disease Awareness Day | September 13
Wed Sep 13th

National Celiac Disease Awareness Day

Every year, National Celiac Disease Awareness Day (September 13th) encourages us to help those with the auto-immune disease that affects 3 million people.


Many people with celiac disease avoid gluten due to the immune response that damages the villi in the small intestine. Over time, the injury will delay the absorption of nutrients into the body. Gluten-free grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and even some oat products contain gluten. The damage is irreversible, and the only known cure is a tightly controlled diet.

The importance of diagnosis, as well as providing resources and assistance to those who have already been diagnosed is highlighted on National Celiac Awareness Day. Families can be helped by alternative meal planning, diet plans, and celiac support groups.

How to recognize celiac disease awareness day?

On this National Day, please share your tips and resources. Offer to provide a completely gluten-free dish to a loved one or friend who has celiac. In addition, be aware of their needs at future gatherings. For your reference, ask for recipes to add to your collection. To find out more, visit or To post on social media, use the hashtag #CeliacDiseaseAwarenessDay.

The day of celiac disease awareness in the United States has a tradition

On September 13th, the United States Senate passed a unanimous resolution in 2005 supporting Celiac Disease Awareness Day. The day commemorated Dr. Samuel Gee, the physician who first published literature on celiac disease and the importance of a diet to combat the condition. Until 2011, the Senate continued to call for National Celiac Disease Awareness Day.

Q. What can I substitute for wheat flour?

A. There are several grains and nuts that can be substituted for wheat flour. Among them are:: Some of them include:: Some of them include::

Amaranth Rice Potato Oat Almond Buckwheat Corn Coconut Chickpea

Q. Is popcorn gluten-free?

A. Popcorn is gluten-free, but you should check to see if none of the additives are gluten-free and that the product is made in a gluten-free environment, as with all processed foods.

Q. Is there any gluten-free foods on the calendar? Yes! Yes! Several days on the calendar include foods that are gluten-free. Try these on for size: Try these on for size: Try these on for size:

  • Pork Rind Day
  • Tapioca Pudding Day
  • Grapefruit Month
  • Avocado Day
  • International Hummus Day is an international Hummus Day
  • Bean Day
  • Pumpkin Seed Day